Despite Recession, ASPCA Closes 2009 with More Than $540,000 in Grants to Equine Organizations

113 grants supported emergency hay and feed totaling more than $280,000
January 20, 2010

NEW YORK— The ASPCA® (The American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals®) awarded $546,789 in the form of 164 equine grants to rescue groups and humane organizations across the country in 2009,  according to its just-released year-end report .

Grants were distributed in 40 states and the District of Columbia, an increase of $8,659 over the $538,130 distributed in 2008.

 A major factor in dealing with large-scale cruelty seizures involves feeding malnourished equines, and a portion of approximately 113 grants went toward emergency hay and feed totaling more than $280,000--more than 50 percent-- of the total grants awarded.  

"These grants show the ASPCA's strong commitment to equine rescue and welfare efforts that, despite current economic conditions, were increased both on a local and national level in 2009," said ASPCA President & CEO Ed Sayres. "Our grants demonstrate to these organizations how much we value their tireless efforts. We hope to make 2010 an even greater year through continued public support of the ASPCA Equine Fund, among others."

Grants distributed by category include: 97 emergency hay grants; 31 grants for capital improvements; 27 grants for emergency disasters/seizures; 5 grants for improving professionalism/education; and 3 grants for Return to Freedom, the American Wild Horse sanctuary located in Lompoc, California.

More groups than ever applied for funding in 2009: 161 organizations received equine funding, up from 113 organizations in 2008.  The total of $546,789 was disbursed as follows: $200,000 from the ASPCA Equine Fund; $120,000 from the Edith Hakes estate; $197,889 from the Seymour Holzer estate and $23,900 from the Emergency Food/Hay restricted campaign. Hay grants were disbursed in 34 states and ASPCA Equine Fund grants in 24 states.  The top 10 state recipients were California (27), Colorado (12), New York (12), Texas (9), Pennsylvania (7), Washington (6), and Florida, Kentucky, Ohio and Oregon with 5 apiece.