ASPCA® Honors Laura Zambelli Barket, Mindy Fortin and Cecily Strong at 21st Annual ASPCA® “Diamond in the Ruff” Bergh Ball

Gala Celebrates Three Individuals Who Have Made Strong Impact in Helping At-Risk Animals
April 23, 2018

New York, N.Y. – The ASPCA® (The American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals®) honored longtime event chair members and ASPCA volunteers Laura Zambelli Barket and Mindy Fortin as well as actress and animal advocate Cecily Strong this evening at the ASPCA’s 21st annual Bergh Ball. Fashion designer Isaac Mizrahi returned as the Masters of Ceremonies, while Sam French kept the crowd dancing throughout the evening at The Plaza Hotel. Other VIP guests in attendance included, Nina Agdal, Arriana and Dixon Boardman, Mark Gilbertson, Wes Gordon, Jessica Hart, Gillian Hearst, Carolina Herrera, Orfeh, Andy Karl, Linda Lloyd Lambert, Luann De Lesseps, Mark Badgley, James Mischka, Chuck & Ellen Scarborough, Jessica Shyba, Brad Walsh, Veronica Webb, and many others.

Jamie Niven hosted the live auction portion of the evening, which featured several high-end items and experiences, including a once-in-a-lifetime pet photo shoot by award-winning animal photographer Seth Casteel, which sold twice for $23,000 each. The Billy Joel VIP concert tickets with a meet-and-greet and signed vinyl, sold for $29,000.

The ASPCA Bergh Ball, the cornerstone of the organization’s fundraising efforts honored Laura Zambelli Barket and Mindy Fortin with the ASPCA® Compassion Award, which recognizes noteworthy individuals who have made outstanding contributions and commitments to animal welfare. Cecily Strong received the ASPCA® Voice for Animals Award, which recognizes individuals in the arts who use traditional and modern media to increase awareness and inspire action on behalf of animals in crisis in the U.S.

Sponsored by Delgatto, CBRE and Tito’s Handmade Vodka, the event, themed “Diamond in the Ruff,” featured décor design by David Beahm Experiences in collaboration with décor chair Robin Bell. Event Chairs in addition to the honorees for this year’s Bergh Ball included: Linda and Ben Lambert, Kim White, Amy Lau, Laura and Fred Tanne, Paige Nelson and Rob Wiesenthal, and Jeffrey A. Pfeifle. Associate Chairs include: Allie Rizzo and Scott Sartiano, Amanda K. Ruisi, Paul Arnhold and Wes Gordon, and Gillian Hearst.

For over 150 years, the ASPCA has made groundbreaking strides to protect the lives of vulnerable animals across the country. By supporting and securing animal adoptions, animal health services, animal rescue, community outreach, field investigations, and legislative work, the ASPCA has helped countless at-risk animals live safer, healthier and happier lives.

For more information about the 2018 Bergh Ball, visit You can join the conversation on social media by tagging @ASPCA on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram, and by using #BerghBall.